The Amazing Adventures of Josie and Seb

July 22, 2009

Progress, part 2

Filed under: apartment, pictures — Cate @ 10:25 am

Ahhh, the joy of a decarpeted apartment! It really does the place a world of good, and I feel better knowing it’s gone. There’s no telling what kind of nastiness was brewing under those carpets (though I suppose I could guess, since I’ve seen what they look like underneath – disgusting). Joe and I (and Jos and Seb) will literally breathe better with them gone, I’m sure of it.

Last night a very gracious friend of mine helped me wrestle the ex-carpets into the basement (where they will stay until I figure out what the heck to do about them, ie, can afford to have them taken away). It was nasty and awful and terrible to have to touch them, but nice that they’re out of my kitchen!

I went to the apartment intending to scrub up the last of the carpet padding and feeling very cocky after my success ripping up carpets. In an unfortunate but not unpredictable turn of events, the padding is proving to be much more stubborn than I thought it would. It’s going to take some serious elbow grease to get it all off and I’m hoping I’ll be able to finish it tonight. Yesterday, though…I was sweaty and annoyed and I just wanted instant gratification.

Gross stuck-on padding - ugh!

Gross stuck-on padding - ugh!

The living room and entry hallway are the worst in terms of stuck-on padding. The office only has a bit and I don’t think it will give me much trouble. The padding in the bedroom turned almost completely to dust, so it was just a matter of sweeping up the crap. There’s still staples in the floor (and the damn tack strips that I couldn’t pry up) and the whole surface needs a good wash, but in terms of post-carpet cleanliness it’s my new favorite room.

One side of the bedroom

One side of the bedroom

Another side of the bedroom

Another side of the bedroom

The tiling I uncovered

The tiling I uncovered

In that last picture, you can see one of three tiled hearths (presumably). It’s pretty ugly – pink and turquoise blotches on a dirty white background – but I was excited to find some original artistic touches in the place. There’s that one in the bedroom, plus one each in the office and living room. I don’t know how old the building is, but I don’t think it’s impossible that at one point there really were three fireplaces on one floor.

I didn’t get back to the house until after 10pm and Josie was beside herself. My third and final roommate seemed to have move most of her things out while I was gone, so miss kitty was probably a little frantic over even more disruption and no sign of me. And then all I wanted to do was go to bed, which she wasn’t happy about.

She woke me up at 6:30 this morning, mewing and crying and wanting attention. I told her to be quiet and pushed her off the bed and, to my absolute shock, she didn’t come back for a second round. When I did finally get up a hour later, she was sitting next to my bed, staring.

I said, “Josie, are you mad at me?”

She narrowed her eyes and said, “Mrrrrrrrrraaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.”

I think that’s a yes.

It's dark, but you can see she has her claws in my leg

You can see she has her claws in my leg...

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

