The Amazing Adventures of Josie and Seb

October 20, 2009

In which we are happily reunited!

Filed under: apartment, googly eyes, pictures — Cate @ 3:57 pm

It’s funny how fast you can get used to a person’s company. The boy (my “better half,” if the guy who sells hummus at the farmer’s market can be trusted) took off for Washington D.C. for five days or so and left me and the animals to fend for ourselves. It wasn’t that big of a deal, really. He left butt-early Wednesday and we said our goodbyes and life went on. Joe and I did the long-distance thing for more than a year, so we’re pretty good at being separated. No biggie.

Where is my human?

Where is my human?

Josie and Seb and I had a pretty chilled out week/weekend. We played outside when it wasn’t raining. We snuggled. We watched a ton of movies: 3:10 to Yuma (okay); Appaloosa (bad); Valkyrie (okay); Milo and Otis (nostalgic favorite); Gosford Park (still boring); Stepbrothers (dumbfunny); Perfect Blue (gory but good); Law Abiding Citizen (Gerard Butler = hot); The Invention of Lying (bad). There’s probably more that I’m forgetting.

Had to keep Seb busy so he didn't get sad.

Had to keep Seb busy so he didn't get sad.

Mostly I just nested down in the Lovesac and vegged and napped. I made up a huge batch of cookie dough but lost interest in actually making cookies. Just one of those weekends!!

You didn't want to sit here, right?

You didn't want to sit here, right?

A funny thing happened on Sunday night. I started really missing Joe. Really missing him. It felt like it had been months since I saw him, like he was still in Portland and I was desperately looking forward to his visit. Monday at work was even worse. How did they expect me to process paper work? Didn’t they know my boyfriend was out of town?!

(It ruffles my feathers to think of myself as one of “those girls” who can’t function without her man, but he’s more than just my man. He’s my friend. And I missed him. So it’s totally different.)

Monday after work I had a little bit of time to kill. Josie and Seb were all keyed up too, probably feeding off my excitement. I took a poll…

“Seb, are you happy that Joe is coming home?”

YOU BETCHA!

YOU BETCHA!

“Josie, are you happy?”

MRAA. YES. MRAAAAAA.

MRAA. YES. MRAAAAAA.

ME TOO!!!

Finally I got to bring Joe home and there was much happy prancing and purring and kissing.

And then I let Jos and Seb say hi, too. ;)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

