The Amazing Adventures of Josie and Seb

February 2, 2010

Laundrystravaganza

Filed under: adventuring, conversations, triumph! — Cate @ 11:46 pm

I think I’m finally beginning to take hold of my Tetris addiction. My shoulder doesn’t feel sore when I play anymore. See, that’s totally proof that I’m not really addicted at all. I can quit at any time. But I choose not to. I play Tetris! Tetris doesn’t play me!

Joe, on the other hand, may be reaching the limits of his patience. Sooner or later he’s going to get mad enough to cut me off. I have visions of myself stomping around the apartment, ripping out chunks of my hair, breaking things, screaming, “WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO MY TETRIS I NEED MY TETRIS WHERE HAVE YOU TAKEN TETRIS CAN YOU HEAR ME TETRIS TETRIS TETRIS TEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTRRRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIIISSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!”

I can’t tell you how many conversations we’ve had that go like this:

Joe asks a question or asks me to help him with something or makes a comment that I ought to respond to.

Me (playing Tetris): Uh huh. Ummm…yeah.

Joe: (sigh)

Me (ten minutes later): OK, what did you need?

Obviously, I can’t tell you how many times we’ve had that conversation because I’ve been too busy playing Tetris to pay attention to my poor, maligned boyfriend. Sometimes I’ll even answer him and then ten minutes later when I come out of my coma I’ll have to ask him what I said and amend it to something that makes actual sense. You know, Tetris never gets mad at me for ignoring it…

Anyway, to demonstrate that I am not yet a total waste of a human being, Joe and I ran errands last night and I barely played Tetris at all the whole evening. We mailed packages, we bought animal food, we had dinner, we went grocery shopping (and we really must be getting good at it because we spent about $100 less than I expected and got a TON of food!), we did our laundry.

I won’t disclose how long it’s been since we washed our clothes, linens, etc. Suffice to say it had been awhile. So there was plenty to do:

In case you can’t see, that’s two IKEA bags, one blue garbage bag, a mesh laundry bag and our laundry hamper, plus two very horrified/fascinated pets.

We took over the laundromat:

Why, yes, those are five industrial-sized washing machines filled with our things!

(I played some Tetris while we waited for the laundry to finish. Which is a perfectly reasonable thing to do! Don’t judge me!)

It sort of sucked at the time, but it was so nice to come home and sleep on clean sheets and put on clean pants today. Turns out, having clean laundry is pretty neat. Huh. I’ll have to remember that for next time…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

